Welcome to Swarthmore College Classifieds

Welcome to the Swarthmore College Classifieds, a campus-based source of information about jobs, housing, and miscellaneous items for sale. This site is routinely updated and new advertisements are posted on weekdays.

The Swarthmore College Classifieds are produced by the Swarthmore College Communications Office for the benefit of the community. We welcome posts from local community members, but do not post advertisements for external businesses or services. When posting to the Classifieds, please remember to include a complete description of the item, job, or living space you are advertising. Listings submitted without basic information may not be published.

Should you need assistance, please contact news@swarthmore.edu.

Swarthmore College Classifieds acts only as an intermediary internet service provider between community members seeking or offering goods and services, housing, or employment opportunities and is not responsible for the content of the materials posted here. The College does not verify or vouch for the authenticity of any posts. The responsibility for obtaining that verification belongs to those who respond to them. The College has no control over the quality, safety, or legality of what is described in the Classifieds, nor the truth or accuracy of the listings.

Nissan Maxima for sale

2003 Nissan Maxima, 107K miles, good physical condition, excellently maintained. Blue book value $3700.

Antique Wing Chair

Antique wing chair – $100
A great ‘reading’ chair!

Antique Wing Chair.jpg (940 KB)

Occasional Babysitter

We are hoping to find someone to babysit for our 5 year old twin daughters in our home 1-2 times per week.
Please contact me if you’re interested.
Thanks!

Spanish Tutor

Looking for college student majoring in Spanish to help get my daughter up to speed quickly in beginner Spanish. Need someone as soon as possible. We live near campus. Text or email me and we can talk further.

Child Care

Before and after school nanny needed for 4 and 9 year old in our nonsmoking Wallingford home 3-4 days per week from 7-9A and 2:30-6P. Flexible start date. We are looking for a reliable caregiver who will interact well with our children. Salary is $15-20 per hour depending on experience and responsibilities. References, experience, background clearances and car are required. Please reply with a contact phone number and related experience to barthkaren@hotmail.com

FURNITURE FOR SALE: August 26th

I will be coming back to Swarthmore to vacate my apartment and I want to sell all of my remaining furniture. There is a full size bed and mattress, two small bookcases that can be stacked on top of one another and a coffee table with a small attachment piece.

I am looking for $200 for everything and it’s first come first serve. The only catch is that you have to come pick it up tomorrow (August 26th) because I will only be back for one day.

Feel free to call or text me at 917-880-8026

-Miguel

Room/Home for rent

Furnished 3 Bedroom home in a lovely and safe neighborhood. Media Address near Rt. 476. Swarthmore College 1 mile, downtown Media < 1 mile, Springfield Mall < 1 mile. Home includes: 3 bedrooms (each for rent), living room, dining, kitchen, 2 bathrooms, laundry room, high speed internet, off street parking, and plenty of storage. Public transportation nearby. 2 rooms left. Perfect for college students. Call or email for details.

Kitchen.jpg (726 KB)

Home.jpg (125 KB)

Room for rent for spring semester

Room for rent for spring semester only in pleasant home very close to campus and the ville. Kitchen, bathroom, laundry, FIOS, air conditioning, and street parking are all available. Nonsmokers only. Please e-mail or call to discuss.

Yardwork/housework opportunity

Opportunity to do yardwork and/or housework in pleasant home very close to campus and the ville. No experience necessary. Flexible hours. Please e-mail or call to discuss.

MAC computer for Sale

MAC computer ‘Core i5′ 21.5 inch, 4GB of RAM, 500 GB hard drive 512 MB of dedicated memory. Excellent condition. $650.

cmputer.jpg (1 MB)

Pet Sitting

Customized and Personalized Pet Sitting (any animal)

I will care for your pet in my home – cats, dogs, hamsters, guinea pigs, ferrets, birds etc. daily, weekly and monthly rates available. Located centrally within the Malvern, Newtown Square, Edgmont and West Chester areas just north of Rt. 3. Can do grooming and medications.
No kennels and lots of home care. I take a limited number of dogs as I let them out in the acre of fenced yard on schedules. 610 348 2152

Piggy.png (515 KB)

Dining Set for Sale

IKEA “Granas” table and four chairs for sale – very good condition. The set retails for $199 (http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/70272059/). I am selling for $50! Please email me for more info and pictures.

table.jpg (23 KB)

Experienced Babysitter

We are looking for a sitter to provide after school care to 9 year old twins in our home located in Secane (Springfield). Must be reliable and have experience with kids. Duties will include homework help for 4th grade level subjects.
Please have two excellent references, paid babysitting experience, and your own transportation to our house.
If interested, please send resume to karenvarn@hotmail.com.

Math/Language Arts Tutor

Learning Support Teacher certified in Middle and High School Math and Language Arts.

Experience tutoring the following:
-Middle school math like Algebra, and Geometry.
-High school math like Algebra I, Algebra II, Geometry, Calculus, etc.
-Language Arts & Reading Support in middle school.

Room and TV room for Rent – Popes Visit

I have a bedroom (king size bed) and tv room with pullout couch on the first floor of my home. There is a separate entrance and a half bath. You may use the shower upstairs and access to kitchen for $125/night for 2 people. Included WiFi, direct TV, access to kitchen, 1/2 bath on 1st floor with access to shower upstairs. Located in Wallingford. I do have 1 dog, 2 cats, 2 birds. Let me know if you would like more info. This will also be available for graduate students who commute to the surrounding colleges for the weekends.

2 Bd Condo for rent

I have a 990 sq ft 2bd, 1 bth condo for rent in Woodlyn/Ridley Park, near MacDade Blvd. Condo has full kitchen, garbage disposal, washer and dryer in unit, central air, 2 car off street parking, a large deck in the back, and a very large private secured storage area. Very quiet and safe, and an easy commute to Philly or Delaware. Rent is $1000/mth including hot water-tenant pays electric and cable. Pets are welcome with small additional monthly fee. Unit is available as of Aug 30, possibly sooner as unit is being renovated, and pictures will be posted as soon as possible. Thank you!

Antique Wall Shelf with Mirror

Antique wall shelf with mirror $50
20″ H x 19″ W

Antique shelf.jpg (613 KB)

Dining Room Set for Sale

14-Piece American Drew Cherry Grove Traditional Dining Collection $3,000 or BO … ***PRICED TO SELL*** MAKE AN OFFER!

Timeless traditional Queen Anne style statement dining room suite includes table with 2 leaves extending to 112″, table pads, 8 chairs (includes 2 side chairs), and China cabinet complete. Purchased under 4 years ago for over $7,000 but listing for just $3,000 OBO. Check out the collection on http://www.americandrew.com/collectionPage.cfm?cid=254
or contact me with any questions.

China Cab.jpg (1 MB)

Din Table.jpg (837 KB)

Din Set.jpg (818 KB)

Dining Table/Chairs & Antique Bed

Solid mahogany dining table is 42″ wide x 57″ long and expands to 75″ & 93″ with two 18″ extensions. Two arm chairs, four side chairs, table pads. Made by Craftique of N.C., all in excellent condition; $700. Matching china cabinet available for $550.
Antique wood bed frame, slightly smaller than double/full size; mattress & box spring included; $75.
Can email photos. Call or email for appointment to see. No calls after 9 p.m.

Part-time babysitter

Seeking in-home childcare in Broomall, Pa for our 3 children. Part time 2 days/week on Tuesdays and Thursdays from 6:30am until 12:30pm. Days/times can be altered to fit your schedule if needed. Children’s ages are 1 1/2, 4 and 6 years old.
We are looking for someone from the surrounding neighborhoods, able to drive to and from school/activities with our car provided, prepare meals and light housekeeping. This individual must possess good communication skills, flexibility, organization, energy, dependability, a genuine love of children and commitment to the safety and well-being of them. Interested candidates will be interviewed and pay/hours will be discussed in further detail then.

SIC 2015.png (451 KB)